How We Function

Application Principles

The St. Lawrence Action Plan 2011-2026 is based on the pooling of the efforts and resources of multiple departments, ministries and agencies of the governments of Canada and Quebec. The objective of this joint initiative is to implement value-added projects to achieve collective results.

The application principles behind this approach are:

  • Intergovernmental cooperation - The governments pool their expertise, skills and resources to generate a synergy favourable to the conservation of the St. Lawrence ecosystem.
  • Public policy coordination and complementarity - To ensure effective, integrated management of the St. Lawrence ecosystem, the governments coordinate the application of public policies in accordance with their respective jurisdictions and in a complementary manner.
  • Knowledge development, transfer and dissemination - Measures aimed at promoting research, education and information access must be maintained and improved to more effectively disseminate knowledge about the St. Lawrence.
  • Sound management of public funds – The governments make the best use of their resources to ensure that activities are complementary in order to achieve concrete results for the St. Lawrence.

Operating Structure

St. Lawrence Action Plan 2011-2026 is managed by Environment and Climate Change Canada (ECCC) and by Quebec's Ministère de l’Environnement et de la Lutte contre les changements climatiques (MELCC).

Its operating structure is as follows:

Agreement Steering Committee  


Manages, implements and reports on the Agreement on behalf of the governments.

Agreement Executive Committee


Implements the decisions of the Agreement Steering Committee and oversees day-to-day business connected with the Agreement through ECCC and MELCC representatives.

Agreement Secretariat


  • Monitors the progress of activities and provides logistical support to the Issue Committees and Working Groups.
  • Supports and liaises with the Issue Committees and Working Groups.
  • Supports the Agreement Steering Committee and Agreement Executive Committee in implementing the Agreement.
  • Coordinates the dissemination of information to the public.

Coordination Committees


  • There are four coordination committees: agriculture, climate change, navigation and marine protected areas.
  • These committees are not part of the management structure of the Agreement.