List of projects
name description link committees Zone
Proceed with the study of the use of the shipping channel by fish

This research project seeks to describe and understand the use of the shipping channel by St. Lawrence fish populations. Its objective is to characterize the abundance and health of the fish that frequent the shipping channel.

The data collected can also be viewed using the Biodiversity application on the St. Lawrence Global Observatory website.

backgrounder Sustainable use
  • Quebec City (45.18978,-74.295044)
  • Quebec City (45.884273,-73.259583)
  • Quebec City (45.402307,-73.818512)
  • Quebec City (46.204547,-72.820129)
Richelieu’s "Corridor Vert et Bleu"

This project consists of creating an “ecological corridor” on the entire Richelieu River watershed, that is, a continuous strip of vegetation (trees, shrubs and native grasses) along the banks that can filter and thereby reduce nonpoint source pollution while serving as a wildlife movement corridor. To learn more, you can read the brochure for this project.

backgrounder Improved water quality
  • Lake Saint-Pierre (45.460833,-73.279167)
Develop agricultural water courses on the coastline in the Lac Saint-Pierre flood plain

The purpose of this project is to continue to improve fish habitat in the flood plains of Lac Saint Pierre by restoring areas with high habitat potential and lower agricultural potential. Since 2003, eight hectares of habitat have been restored through an approach that is sensitive to the coexistence of agriculture and wildlife. Ten water courses, in the Lanaudière and Centre-du-Québec regions, have been developed.

backgrounder Improved water quality
  • Lac Saint-Pierre (46.15417,-72.70139)
  • Lac Saint-Pierre (46.11917,-73.09778)
Document riverine inputs of organic carbon and nutrients into the marine estuary in relation to hypoxia and acidification

This project, which is being carried out upstream in the St. Lawrence, involves studying the effects of inputs of organic carbon and nutrients (phosphorus and nitrogen) associated with agricultural activities on the ecosystem of the marine estuary of the St. Lawrence.

Water quality measurement stations are located at the outlet of Lake Ontario, at Wolfe Island, at the mouth of the Ottawa River (Carillon) and at Quebec City.

backgrounder Improved water quality
  • Marker 3 (46.766676,-71.241531)
  • Carillon (45.573437,-74.379845)
  • Wolfe Island (44.190574,-76.344109)
Improve knowledge about pathogenic organisms from agricultural sources found in tributaries of Lac Saint-Pierre

The purpose of this project is to assess the risk of contamination of the water in Lac Saint Pierre by pathogenic organisms that flow into it from the tributaries and to study the relationships between the indicator organisms or pathogens detected in the water samples and the agricultural contamination sources. This is achieved by monitoring concentrations of the E. coli indicator bacteria in the river upstream and downstream of the lake, as well as in the tributaries.

backgrounder Improved water quality
  • Lake Saint-Pierre (46.204132,-72.811083)
Use the effects of harmful and toxic algae as indicators for monitoring the quality and eutrophication of the water

This project involves studying the long-term effects of toxic algae on the ecosystem, identifying toxic algae, and determining the environmental factors influencing their impact. It also includes developing detection and evaluation tools to assess toxic effects on exposed organisms and using algae as indicators for monitoring water quality and eutrophication.

backgrounder Improved water quality
  • Lake Saint-Louis (45.390735,-73.813705)
  • Lake Saint-Pierre (46.20222,-72.82417)
Develop a toxicity test to assess the sediments in the brackish water zone of the St. Lawrence

The purpose of this project is to determine which toxicity tests should be used to evaluate the potential impact of dredged or deposited sediments in the brackish water zone of the St. Lawrence, that is, downstream of Île d’Orléans.

backgrounder Improved water quality
  • Île Madame (46.972815,-70.7868)
Document the presence of pharmaceutical products in municipal effluents in the Montreal region and assess their effect on aquatic fauna

This project involves a series of research studies examining the impact of discharges of pharmaceutical substances on the environment and human health, given that the discharge of urban effluents constitutes a major source of pollution for the river, and the Montreal purification plant alone creates half of them.

backgrounder Improved water quality
  • Lake Saint-Pierre (45.7025,-73.45639)
Document the presence of pharmaceutical and personal care products in the St. Lawrence and selected tributaries

This project consists of pooling and jointly interpreting data on 44 different substances measured at 11 sampling stations located between the Ottawa River and Lévis. The goal of the project is to interpret the measured concentrations of each of these products and gain a better understanding of the concentrations of pharmaceutical and personal care products in the river.

backgrounder Improved water quality
  • Trois-Rivières (46,807187,-71,181906)
  • Montreal (45,563264,-74,392799)
Develop a risk assessment project for the environment and health related to urban effluents in the Quebec City region

The purpose of this project is to assess the risks that municipal effluents, including those from Quebec City and Lévis, have on the ecosystem and on human health. In the first phase, a multi-disciplinary team will be created, and in the second phase, the team will study the toxic effects of effluents on aquatic wildlife and possibly on fish-eating wildlife (mammals and birds) and humans.

backgrounder Improved water quality
  • Quebec City (46.78243,-71.218529)
Combine tools for environmental prediction and state of the St. Lawrence monitoring and apply them to mapping the water quality of Lac Saint-Pierre

The purpose of this project is to combine the data of the Numerical Environmental Prediction and State of the St. Lawrence Monitoring groups to produce information (data, maps, indicators, etc.) that reflects the state of the contamination of Lac Saint Pierre by pesticides. The data will serve to identify the areas most affected by contamination in Lac Saint Pierre and to review the locations of sampling sites in the lake as needed and adjust the sampling plan.

backgrounder Improved water quality
  • Lac Saint-Pierre (46.213576,-72.815323)
Assess the ecotoxicological risk of the round goby in the St. Lawrence River in terms of the impact of invasive species on the trophic transfer of contaminants

The purpose of this project is to quantify the ecotoxicological risk represented by the round goby in order to assess the degree to which it contributes to the transfer of contaminants in the food chain. Researchers will assess the concentrations of contaminants (conventional and emerging) found in sediment and fish at about 10 sampling stations along Montreal’s effluent plume. They will then be able to assess the risk of contamination to predators of the round goby.

backgrounder Improved water quality
  • Plume of Montreal's effluent (45.582929,-73.476906)
Assess sediment dynamics and contamination levels in the wetlands of Lac Saint-Pierre

This project involves studying the sediment beds of the wetlands of Lac Saint-Pierre. The sedimentation rate and contamination level of the various layers of sediment will provide information on changes over time in environmental and anthropogenic pressures on these sensitive environments. This project will evaluate the impact of municipal and industrial wastewater, agricultural inputs, water level variations, dredging, and climate change. The data will provide essential elements for better understanding the dynamics of some of the most important habitats in the St. Lawrence ecosystem.

backgrounder Improved water quality
  • Marker 1 (46.191022,-72.852189)
Set up a round table on lac Saint-Pierre

This project will look at several previously-raised factors that could explain the deterioration of the lac Saint-Pierre ecosystem, including the over-exploitation of the perch resource, the impoverishment of water quality and habitats, benthic cyanobacteria, cormorant predation and competition for resources between indigenous and introduced species (round goby) in the lake. The project will also consider new factors, such as hydroclimatic conditions, parasites, pesticides and emerging contaminants.

Improved water quality
  • Lac Saint-Pierre (46.195042,-72.833862)
Participate in the creation of model interventions for the conservation of biodiversity in the agricultural setting

This project aims to carry out model interventions and restore habitats in an area of the south shore of Lake Saint-Pierre to make this a model of best practices for agriculture and environmental protection.

The expected results are the reduction of non-point source pollution, the improvement of water quality, and the improvement of the habitats of many wildlife species (birds and fish), including Yellow Perch, throughout the Lake Saint-Pierre watershed.

backgrounder Biodiversity conservation
  • Baie-du-Febvre (46.141426,-72.720909)
Assess the impact of climate change on high marshes in the freshwater estuary and develop strategies for protecting species in precarious situations

This project involves documenting changes in the marshes of the freshwater estuary of the St. Lawrence through an in-depth study of four sites to identify the primary factors responsible for the erosion of the marshes. The results of this project will make it possible to adapt strategies for protecting plant species in precarious situations by taking into account the impact of climate change.

backgrounder Biodiversity conservation
  • Quebec City (46.804995,-71.198673)
Analyze the outcomes identified using existing indicators and develop new indicators for the impact of climate change on ecosystems

This project involves quantifying the effect of climate change on the fluvial ecosystem using biological indicators that have been designed to test various St. Lawrence flow regulation plans. These indicators will be refined and reused under new flow and water temperature conditions corresponding to various hydroclimatological scenarios. This will lead to improved knowledge of the effects of climate change on biodiversity in various segments of the fluvial section of the St. Lawrence, from Lac Saint-Louis to Trois-Rivières.

backgrounder Biodiversity conservation
  • Varennes, Boucherville from lake Saint-Louis to Laviolette bridge (45.68195,-73.446693)
Evaluate the effects of invasive exotic fish on freshwater mussels indigenous to the St. Lawrence

The purpose of this research project is to evaluate the hypothesis that the round goby acts as an “impostor” host for the larvae of certain indigenous mussel species and impairs their recruitment and dispersal.

Researchers sampled two species of mussels common to the St. Lawrence River, namely the eastern elliptio and the eastern lampmussel, at Trois-Rivières and Grondines. These adult mussels provided the larvae required for the laboratory experiments. Round goby were also sampled at various sites, including at Île Verte and at the mouth of the Chateauguay River, to determine which mussel species have adopted this invasive fish species as a host for their larvae.

backgrounder Biodiversity conservation
  • Marker 4 (45.95528,-73.66917)
  • Marker 3 (45.64056,-73.775)
  • Marker 2 (46.27760,-72.65627)
  • Marker 1 (46.58577,-72.04089)
Proceed with one marine protected area (MPA) initiative

This study on the creation of a marine protected area in Îles-de-la-Madeleine is being conducted jointly by the Ministère du Développement durable, de l’Environnement, et de la Lutte contre les changements climatiques du Québec (MDDELCC) and Parks Canada. The purpose of the study is to identify sectors of interest for the conservation of marine biodiversity and cultural resources and to assess opportunities for development, education and the enjoyment of the marine environment, as well as challenges involved in the establishment of a marine protected area.

backgrounder Biodiversity conservation
  • Marker 1 (47.38333,-61.86667)

Liste des projets
Nom Description Lien Comité Zones
Poursuivre l'étude sur l'utilisation du chenal de navigation par les poissons

Ce projet de recherche vise à décrire et à comprendre l’utilisation du chenal de navigation par les communautés de poissons du Saint-Laurent. Son objectif est de caractériser l’abondance et l’état de santé des poissons qui fréquentent le chenal. Vous pouvez prendre connaissances de l’application Biodiversité sur le site de l’Observatoire global du Saint-Laurent (OGSL), où vous trouverez les données recueillies.

fiche d'information Pérennité des usages
  • Québec (45.18978,-74.295044)
  • Québec (45.884273,-73.259583)
  • Québec (45.38953,-73.839111)
  • Québec (46.195042,-72.858582)
Corridors vert et bleu pour le Richelieu

Ce projet vise à créer un « corridor écologique » sur l’ensemble du bassin versant de la rivière Richelieu, c’est-à-dire une bande de végétation continue sur les rives – formée d’arbres, d’arbustes et d’herbacées indigènes – qui pourra filtrer et donc réduire les sources de pollution diffuse tout en servant de corridor de déplacement à la faune. Vous pouvez vous référer au dépliant explicatif du projet.

fiche d'information Amélioration de la qualité de l'eau
  • Lac Saint-Pierre (45.460833,-73.279167)
Aménager des cours d’eau agricoles dans le littoral en plaine inondable du lac Saint-Pierre

Ce projet vise à poursuivre l’amélioration de l’habitat du poisson dans la plaine inondable du lac Saint-Pierre, en restaurant des zones à haut potentiel d’habitat et à plus faible potentiel agricole. Depuis 2003, huit hectares d’habitat ont été restaurés dans une approche soucieuse de la cohabitation de l’agriculture et de la faune. Ainsi, dix cours d'eau répartis dans les régions de Lanaudière et du Centre-du-Québec ont été aménagés. Pour en savoir plus, consultez la fiche d’information sur ce projet.

fiche d'information Amélioration de la qualité de l'eau
  • Lac Saint-Pierre (46.15417,-72.70139)
  • Lac Saint-Pierre (46.11917,-73.09778)
Documenter les apports fluviaux en carbone organique et en éléments nutritifs à l’estuaire maritime en lien avec l’hypoxie et l’acidification

Ce projet, qui se déroule en amont du Saint-Laurent, vise à étudier les effets des apports en carbone organique et en éléments nutritifs (phosphore et azote) associés aux activités agricoles sur l’écosystème de l’estuaire maritime du Saint-Laurent.

Les stations de mesures de la qualité de l’eau sont situées à l’exutoire du lac Ontario, à Wolfe Island, à l’embouchure de la rivière des Outaouais (Carillon) et à Québec.

fiche d'information Amélioration de la qualité de l'eau
  • Marqueur 3 (46.766676,-71.241531)
  • Carillon (45.573437,-74.379845)
  • Wolfe Island (44.190574,-76.344109)
Améliorer les connaissances sur les microorganismes pathogènes provenant des sources agricoles dans les tributaires du lac Saint-Pierre

Ce projet vise à évaluer le risque de contamination de l’eau du lac Saint-Pierre par les microorganismes pathogènes qui sont déversés par les cours d’eau tributaires et à étudier les liens entre les organismes indicateurs ou pathogènes décelés dans les échantillons d’eau et les sources agricoles de contamination. Pour y arriver, un suivi des concentrations des bactéries indicatrices E. coli est effectué dans le fleuve – en amont et en aval du lac – ainsi que dans les tributaires.

fiche d'information Amélioration de la qualité de l'eau
  • Lac Saint-Pierre (46.204132,-72.811083)
Utiliser les algues nuisibles et toxiques comme indicateurs pour le suivi de la qualité et de l’eutrophisation de l’eau

Ce projet vise à étudier, notamment, les effets à long terme des algues toxiques sur l’écosystème et de déterminer quelles algues s’avèrent toxiques. Il a également pour objectif de mettre au point des outils de détection et d’évaluation, pour évaluer les effets toxiques sur les organismes exposés et d’utiliser des algues comme indicateurs pour le suivi de la qualité et de l’eutrophisation de l’eau.

fiche d'information Amélioration de la qualité de l'eau
  • Lac Saint-Louis (45.390735,-73.813705)
  • Lac Saint-Pierre (46.20222,-72.82417)
Développer un essai de toxicité pour évaluer les sédiments de la zone d’eau saumâtre du Saint-Laurent

Le projet vise à déterminer les essais de toxicité qui devraient être utilisés pour évaluer l’impact potentiel des sédiments dragués ou déposés dans la zone saumâtre du Saint-Laurent, c’est à dire en aval de l’île d’Orléans.

fiche d'information Amélioration de la qualité de l'eau
  • île madame (46.972815,-70.7868)
Documenter la présence de produits pharmaceutiques dans les effluents municipaux de la région de Montréal et évaluer leurs effets sur la faune aquatique

Ce projet comprend toute une série de recherches qui visent à évaluer les impacts des rejets de substances pharmaceutiques sur l’environnement et sur la santé humaine, considérant que les rejets des effluents urbains constituent une source de pollution importante du fleuve et que la station d’épuration de Montréal en génère la moitié.

fiche d'information Amélioration de la qualité de l'eau
  • Lac Saint-Pierre (45.7025,-73.45639)
Documenter la présence de produits pharmaceutiques et de soins personnels dans le Saint-Laurent et certains de ses tributaires

Ce projet vise à mettre en commun et à interpréter conjointement des données relatives à 44 substances différentes qui ont été mesurées à 11 stations d’échantillonnage situées entre la rivière des Outaouais et Lévis. Le but du projet est d’interpréter les concentrations mesurées de chacun de ces produits et d’obtenir une connaissance accrue des concentrations de produits pharmaceutiques et de soins personnels dans le fleuve.

fiche d'information Amélioration de la qualité de l'eau
  • Trois-Rivières (46.306535,-72.561436)
  • Montréal (45.563264,-74.392799)
Élaborer un projet d’évaluation des risques pour l’environnement et pour la santé attribuables aux effluents urbains dans la région de Québec

Le projet vise à évaluer les risques que représentent les effluents municipaux, dont ceux de Québec et de Lévis, pour l’écosystème et pour la santé humaine. Dans une première phase, on mettra sur pied une équipe multidisciplinaire qui, dans une seconde phase, étudiera les effets toxiques des effluents sur la faune aquatique et, éventuellement, sur la faune piscivore (mammifères et oiseaux) et les humains.

fiche d'information Amélioration de la qualité de l'eau
  • Québec (46.78243,-71.218529)
Arrimer les outils de prévision environnementale et de suivi de l'état du Saint-Laurent: Application à la cartographie de la qualité de l'eau du lac Saint-Pierre

Ce projet vise à mettre en commun les données des groupes Prévision numérique environnementale et Suivi de l’état du Saint-Laurent afin de générer de l’information (données, cartes, indicateurs, etc.) reflétant l’état de la contamination du lac Saint-Pierre par les pesticides. Ces données permettront de déterminer les zones les plus affectées par la contamination dans le lac Saint-Pierre. Elles pourront ainsi permettre de revoir, au besoin, l’emplacement des sites d’échantillonnage dans le lac et d’ajuster le plan d’échantillonnage.

fiche d'information Amélioration de la qualité de l'eau
  • Lac Saint-Pierre (46.213576,-72.815323)
Évaluer le risque écotoxicologique du gobie à taches noires dans le fleuve Saint Laurent : impact d’une espèce envahissante sur le transfert trophique des contaminants

Le projet vise à quantifier le risque écotoxicologique que représente le gobie à taches noires, afin d’évaluer dans quelle mesure il contribue au transfert des contaminants dans la chaîne alimentaire. Pour réaliser leur projet, les chercheurs évalueront les concentrations de contaminants (classiques et d’intérêt émergent) trouvés dans les sédiments et les poissons d’une dizaine de stations d’échantillonnage dans le panache de l’effluent de Montréal. Les chercheurs pourront ainsi évaluer le risque de contamination des prédateurs du gobie à taches noires.

fiche d'information Amélioration de la qualité de l'eau
  • Panache de l'effluent Montréal (45.701744,-73.451157)
Évaluer la dynamique sédimentaire et le niveau de contamination des milieux humides du lac Saint-Pierre

Ce projet vise à étudier les couches de sédiments des milieux humides du lac Saint-Pierre. Le taux de sédimentation et le niveau de contamination des différentes strates de sédiments fourniront de l’information sur l’évolution dans le temps de différentes pressions environnementales et humaines qui agissent sur ces milieux sensibles. Le projet permettra d’évaluer l’influence des eaux usées municipales et industrielles, celle de l’apport des contaminants agricoles, de la variation des niveaux d’eau, du dragage et des changements climatiques. Les données fourniront des éléments essentiels pour améliorer notre compréhension de la dynamique de certains des habitats les plus importants pour l’écosystème du Saint-Laurent.

fiche d'information Amélioration de la qualité de l'eau
  • Marqueur 1 (46.191022,-72.852189)
Mettre en place un groupe d’échange sur le lac Saint-Pierre

Le projet examinera plusieurs facteurs précédemment invoqués pour expliquer le déclin de l’écosystème du lac Saint-Pierre, tels que la surexploitation de la perchaude, la dégradation de la qualité de l’eau et des habitats, la présence de cyanobactéries benthiques, la prédation du cormoran et la compétition pour les ressources entre les espèces indigènes et les espèces introduites (gobie à taches noires) dans le lac. De plus, le projet s’attardera à des facteurs additionnels qui n’ont pas été invoqués précédemment, tels que les conditions hydroclimatiques, les parasites, les pesticides et les contaminants émergents.

Amélioration de la qualité de l'eau
  • Lac Saint-Pierre (46.195042,-72.833862)
Participer à la mise en place d’interventions modèles de conservation de la biodiversité en milieu agricole

Ce projet vise à réaliser des interventions modèles et la restauration d’habitats dans un secteur de la rive sud du lac Saint-Pierre pour en faire un modèle de bonnes pratiques en matière d’agriculture et de protection de l’environnement.

Les résultats attendus sont la réduction de la pollution diffuse, l’amélioration de la qualité de l’eau, et l'amélioration des habitats de plusieurs espèces fauniques (poissons, oiseaux), dont la perchaude, dans l’ensemble du bassin versant du lac Saint-Pierre.

fiche d'information Conservation de la biodiversité
  • Baie-du-Febvre (46.141426,-72.720909)
Évaluer l'impact des changements climatiques sur les hauts marais de l'estuaire d'eau douce et élaborer des stratégies de protection des espèces en situation précaire

Ce projet vise à documenter l'évolution des marais de l'estuaire d'eau douce du Saint-Laurent par une étude approfondie de quatre sites afin de déterminer les principaux facteurs responsables de leur érosion. Les résultats de ce projet permettront d'adapter les stratégies de protection d'espèces floristiques en situation précaire en tenant compte de l'impact des changements climatiques. Vous pouvez prendre connaissance du rapport final du projet.

fiche d'information Conservation de la biodiversité
  • Québec (46.804995,-71.198673)
Analyser les résultats issus des indicateurs existants et mettre au point de nouveaux indicateurs de l'impact des changements climatiques sur les écosystèmes

Ce projet consiste à quantifier l’effet des changements climatiques sur l’écosystème fluvial à l’aide d'indicateurs biologiques qui ont été conçus pour tester plusieurs plans de régularisation du débit du Saint-Laurent. Ces indicateurs seront raffinés et réutilisés dans de nouvelles conditions de débit et de température de l’eau correspondant à divers scénarios hydroclimatiques. Cela permettra de mieux connaître les effets des changements climatiques sur la biodiversité de plusieurs portions du Saint-Laurent fluvial, du lac Saint-Louis à Trois-Rivières.

fiche d'information Conservation de la biodiversité
  • Varennes, Boucherville du lac Saint-Louis au pont Laviolette (45.68195,-73.446693)
Évaluer les effets des poissons exotiques envahissants sur les moules d'eau douce indigène du Saint-Laurent

Ce projet de recherche vise à évaluer l’hypothèse selon laquelle le gobie à taches noires agirait comme hôte « imposteur » pour les larves de certaines espèces de moules indigènes et nuirait à leur recrutement et à leur dispersion.

Pour réaliser ce projet, les chercheurs ont procédé à la récolte de deux espèces de moules que l’on trouve généralement dans le fleuve Saint-Laurent, soit l’elliptio de l’Est et la lampsile rayée, à Trois-Rivières et à Grondines. Ces moules adultes ont fourni les larves nécessaires aux expériences réalisées en laboratoire. Des gobies à taches noires ont également été récoltés à différents sites, notamment sur l’île Verte et à l’embouchure de la rivière Chateauguay, afin de déterminer les espèces de moules qui ont adopté ce poisson envahissant comme hôte pour assurer le développement de leurs larves.

fiche d'information Conservation de la biodiversité
  • Marqueur 4 (45.95528,-73.66917)
  • Marqueur 3 (45.64056,-73.775)
  • Marqueur 2 (46.27760,-72.65627)
  • Marqueur 1 (46.58577,-72.04089)
Mettre en œuvre un projet d’aire marine protégée (AMP)

Étude concernant une aire marine protégée aux Îles-de-la-Madeleine.

Cette étude concernant une aire marine protégée aux Îles-de-la-Madeleine est réalisée conjointement par le Ministère du Développement durable, de l’Environnement de la Lutte contre les changements climatiques et par l'agence Parcs Canada. Elle vise à déterminer les secteurs d’intérêt pour la conservation de la biodiversité marine et des ressources culturelles et à évaluer les possibilités de mise en valeur, d’éducation et d’appréciation du milieu marin. Elle a également pour but d’évaluer les contraintes liées à la création d’une aire marine protégée.

fiche d'information Conservation de la biodiversité
  • Marqueur 1 (47.38333,-61.86667)